George and Ruby’s Expanding Family

The 1950s and early 1960s saw George and Ruby’s list of grandchildren grow quickly.  I was born on July 27, 1951 and my name came from my uncle’s middle name and my grandfather, Robert Claude Gallagher who had died 11 years before I was born.  Perhaps my parents liked the name Gerald because I remember my uncle being a person who enjoys humor, laughed easily and had many friends.  He always had a joke or a humorous story to tell.  He enjoyed several hobbies over the years such as fishing, boating, midget car racing and ham radio operations.  Two months after I was born, my Uncle Jerry who was 17 married Eleanor Anne Beaupre age 18 on September 28, 1951.  A year later, on November 25, 1952, Billy Joe and Jodi had their second child, Stephen Holley Blaylock.  Two weeks after that, Jerry and Eleanor had their first child on December 5, 1952 and named her Susan Marie Blaylock.

Just before I was born, my parents purchased a small, two bedroom, 800 square foot house at 10806 Hermosa Drive.  About 1 year later, my grandparents purchased a three bedroom home of 1,300 square feet, 7 houses down the block at 10838 Hermosa Drive.  As a result, my grandparents were very nearby until we moved to another house about June of 1957.  George did not sell the house on Ripley Street but kept it as a rent house.  When I was 4 or 5 years old, I was allowed to go down the block on my tricycle, usually towing my wagon behind me, and visit my grandparents.  Usually my grandfather would be at work but my grandmother would be home and welcomed me.  She might make me some wheat toast with butter which was different than the white toast we always had at home because my Dad was particularly fond of Mrs. Baird’s white bread.  She might try to convince me to have some prune juice, which none of the children liked but was always in good supply.  I could hunt for horned toads in her garden, just have a chat or possibly stay for lunch.  I was fortunate that my grandparents lived on the same side of the street because I was not allowed to cross the street at that age.  Living so near my grandparents and being allowed to visit them was special and my grandparents cherished all their grandchildren.

Around 1953, Jodi filed for a divorce from Billy Joe.  This was a bitter divorce and was difficult for both my grandparents but particularly difficult for my grandmother because the result was the alienation of two of her grandchildren whom she loved.  The situation was made worse because Billy Joe did not pay child support in a timely manner and visitation was limited by Jodi as a result.  Billy Joe subsequently married Grace Rebecca Grant Orfield, a divorcee with 2 daughters, on April 13, 1955.  She was 12 years older than Billy Joe.  Jodi also remarried around 1956 and her second husband, John William Kelly was able to adopt Belinda and Stephen when Billy Joe gave up his parental rights.  Belinda became Belinda Marie Kelly and Stephen’s name was changed to Stephen Greer Kelly.  John and Jodi Kelly had two children together but none of the Blaylock family ever had any contact with them.  Billy Joe then joined the Army about 1954 and he was rarely around the family until he left the Army 14 years later except when he had extended leave.

Billy Joe’s marriage to Grace Rebecca Grant Orfield was short lived and they were soon divorced.  One of his early postings in the Army was in Germany where he married a third time.  On June 1, 1957, Billy Joe married Elfriede C. (last name not known), who we called Freedle.  She was divorced, 10 years older than Billy Joe, and her previous husband had custody of her daughter living in Germany.  Billy Joe and Freedle would visit George and Ruby on leave periodically.

My brother, Gary Wayne Gallagher, was born January 4, 1954.  Jerry and Eleanor had their second child, Beverly Anne Blaylock, on January 16, 1956.  My brother, Randal Ray Gallagher, was born July 8, 1957 just after we moved from the house on Hermosa Drive to a three bed room home at 8911 Sorrento Street.  Then Jerry and Eleanor had their third child, Yvonne Agnes Blaylock, born on December 27, 1957.

My grandfather, George, had been working at Rio Grande Life Insurance since the late 1930s and was having success as an agent selling insurance.  Occasionally my grandfather would take me with him to collect premiums from his customers and sometimes at the end of the day we would stop at a soda fountain or stop by his office and I would be treated to a soft drink.  For a while, he drove a Crosley station wagon which was a small two door car that I really enjoyed because I could see out the windows better than in a larger car.  I don’t think it was a particularly reliable car and, after owning the Crosley, he drove Chevrolets.  Each year there would be a sales contest and my grandfather won several vacation trips.  The most significant trip that he won that I remember was to Havana, Cuba in 1957.  At that time, Havana was the Las Vegas of the Caribbean and was the most exotic place anyone in the family had ever been.  Just a few years later in October of 1960, a travel embargo was placed on Cuba preventing U.S. citizens from travelling there.

On October 26, 1958, Janice married Dwain Carrol Cleere.  I remember my Aunt Janice as a generous person with a very positive attitude.  Whenever I talk to her on the phone, I am always struck by the uplifting tone of her voice.

Jerry and Eleanor had their fourth daughter, Elaine Lucia Blaylock, on May 21, 1959.  Janice and Dwain had their first child, Robert Wayne Cleere, on March 25, 1960 and Jerry and Eleanor had their fifth child, a son named John Gerald Blaylock, on November 21, 1960.  My youngest brother, Richard Joe Gallagher, was born January 30, 1962.  Jerry and Eleanor’s youngest child, George Joseph Blaylock, was born August 11, 1963 and Janice and Dwain’s youngest child, Larry Joe Cleere, was born August 28, 1963.

Leave a comment